Skip to main content

Health and Social Care: Databases, journals and articles

Database status update

11.8.17: There are problems accessing ebooks on the Dawsonera platform

For further information about resource issues see the Electronic resources blog and the Library Twitter Feed.

Accessing electronic resources

To access resources both on- and off-campus, click on the link to the resource and when prompted to do so, enter your Bolton Network ID and password. A minority of resources require additional steps which are indicated in the list of resources.

When you login to electronic resources you agree a number of terms and conditions which are available in full here. Some resources require you to agree to additional terms which you may see when you access the resource.

Our quick start guide to accessing electronic resources is available below:

Finding journals and articles with Discover@Bolton

Discover@Bolton enables you to search across multiple full text electronic resources via a single interface. Enter your search term in the box below and hit "Discover":

Use the options on the left-hand side of the results screen to refine your results. For example, you can filter by item type, subject area or by date.

Off-campus? Look for the red banner at the top of the screen and follow the link to login.

For further help, two guides are available:

Additional resources for Health and Social Care

As well as this Subject Guide, you may also find the following useful:

Finding specific journals

If you wish to access a particular journal, search either by title or by subject area using the Ejournals portal:

The EJournals Portal includes access to the Article Linker, which allows you to search for specific articles. Have a look at the help guide below:

Using databases to find academic material

Databases are collections of good quality, academic materials on either specific topics or a wider range of subject areas. Many of our databases provide access to full-text items; indexing databases cite author, title and publication details and will often provide an abstract so you can establish whether or not the research is suitable for your needs.

Links to subject-specific databases are available on this guide along with information on the content of the database.

Our quick start guide to finding information for assignments may be helpful:

Useful databases for Health and Social Care

Databases are searchable electronic resources  that enable you to access academic material. A number of databases are recommended for Health and Social Care; follow the links in this section. Unless otherwise indicated, to access these databases, click on the link and when prompted, enter your Network ID and password.

bottom logo