University of Bolton Library: REDIRECT Clinical Practice: Useful websites

Useful websites for Clinical Practice

As well as academic resources, you may also find the following suggested websites useful. If you are unsure of what makes a good a website, and whether or not a website should be used as a source for an assignment, the Using the Internet for Research section of LEAP Online will be useful.

Department of Health Information on public health, adult social care and the NHS.
Institute of Health Care Management News, events, discussion forum etc. Also provides summaries of its reports.
Medical Research Council The MRC promotes and sponsors research into all areas of medical and related science with the aim of improving the health and quality of life of the UK public.
National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE) Provides independent, authoritative and evidence-based guidance on the most effective ways to prevent, diagnose and treat disease and ill health, reducing inequalities and variation.
NHS Acronym Buster Created by the NHS to allow users to help manage their health. The apps have been reviewed by NHS staff to ensure they are clinically safe.
NHS Choices The UK’s largest Health website. Contains information for patients and NHS services.
NHS Evidence NHS Evidence is a service that provides easy access to high quality clinical and non-clinical information about health and social care. NHS Evidence hosts content and searches external sources of information so that users can access it directly. For information on how to access NHS Athens accounts contact the Health Librarian - Dawn Grundy
NHS Primary Group Alliance An organisation representing primary care, primary care organisations and people, professionals and managers working with them.
Nursing and Midwifery Council NMC is the statutory regulatory board set up to ensure that nurses, midwives and health visitors in the United Kingdom provide high standards of care to their patients and clients.
Royal College of Nursing The RCN represents nurses and nursing, and this site includes details of the organisation and links to other sites.
Trip Database Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.
World Health Organisation Information, reports and statistics on world health matters.

Apps for Clinical Practice

Not all apps may be available for all devices. To search for an app go to your device's app store e.g. iTunes Store for iPad or Google Play Store for Android devices. Some apps may require subscription or a payment.

Adult Drug Calculations This useful app will help with learning formulae to calculate and administer drugs for adults, practice your skills and contains a quiz to see how well you are doing. This app is also available for Android devices.
Baby Buddy This app is aimed at parents and parents-to-be with personalised content approved by doctors and midwives that spans from pregnancy right through to the first six months after birth. Available on iTunes and Android (there is also a web version).
British Medical Journal The BMJ has a number of apps. See the above link for details of the BMJ’s available apps on iTunes. Some of the BMJ apps are also available for Android, just search on Google Play Store.
BNF & BNFC Giving you access to practical, evidence-based medicines information wherever you are.
Cochrane Library The Cochrane Library app for iPad is a unique way of looking at content from the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews.
Dementia Understanding stress and distress An app containing information and advice for supporting people with dementia.
Geeky Medics The Geeky Medics app provides a comprehensive collection of clinical skills guides in an intuitive interface.
Guidelines for Nurses The Guidelines for Nurses app contains concise summaries of major primary and shared care clinical guidelines from the UK, and covers 17 broad clinical areas. It is fully searchable, contains all the current summaries from GuidelinesforNurses.co.uk and is updated monthly.
NHS Apps Library Useful for both health care professionals and students about to begin placements in the NHS. The easy to use app version explains over 700 commonly used acronyms used in the NHS. You can download the app (for iTunes or Android) via the link above.
Student Health App The Student Health App provides easy access to more than 900 pages of reliable health information all in one place. The content has been created for university students by NHS doctors and is regularly updated.

Other sources for apps

There are a number of apps available for students studying anatomy and physiology. The following page is a useful guide:

https://appolicious.com/the-best-iphone-apps-for-anatomy-students/

General Apps

The following links list mainly American apps. Always check user ratings/reviews before downloading!

Are you using something not listed here?

Get in touch with the Health Librarian and let us know!

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is Google's academic search engine. It allows you to search for information published in journals and books, for example. It includes an increasing amount on open access material as well content that you would have to pay to access.

You can connect Google Scholar to the Library's holdings to make accessing full text articles easier.

How do I set up Library Links on Google Scholar?

Useful university resources

Evaluating websites

The LEAP Online section Using the Internet for Research, has lots of tips for getting the best out of using the internet and avoiding the common pitfalls.

The University of Bolton Library

REDIRECT Clinical Practice: Useful websites