Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CSS Website Layout
logo

The University of Bolton Library

Social Work : Library services at Queen's

Library services at the Queen's Specialist Building

As well as the Peter Marsh Library, the Queen's Specialist Building provides library services that are available for all students, but in particular those whose courses are based at Queen's. A guide to library services at Queen's is available below:

Opening times - Queen's

 

The Queen's Library is currently open at all times that the Queen's Technical Building is open. There is no need to book to make a visit. 

More details about access to the Queen's Library

BoltonUniLib on Twitter

Services at Queen's

The Library at the Queen's Specialist Building contains copies of recommended reading and core texts. They can be borrowed via the self-issue machine.

Most items can be borrowed for either three weeks or one week. Books are automatically renewed unless they are required by another user. You will be informed if that is that case.

The number of items you can borrow depends on the type of university member you are:

Undergraduates: 10 items

Postgraduates: 15 items (Education students on postgraduate courses are limited to 10 items)

Researchers: 15 items

Staff: 15 items

In addition to printed books, you have access to around 140,000 electronic books which can be accessed 24 hours a day, 7 days a week from any device with an Internet connection.

If an item becomes overdue because we were unable to renew automatically, we will send an overdue reminder to your university email account after one week. If you fail to return the item we will then send you two further reminders. If items are still not returned you will be sent an invoice for the cost of replacing them. If you do receive an invoice please act on this immediately as the matter is then referred to the Finance Department.

Your fine needs to be less than £5 in order to borrow or renew items.

If you have accrued fines because you were away from the University due to some mitigating circumstances please contact the Help Desk

Fines
  • 3 week loans: 10p per day for first 2 weeks, then 25p per day
  • 1 week loans: 10p per day for first week, then 25p per day
  • High Demand Desk Reference: £5 per hour or part hour
  • Inter-Library Loans: 50p per day

If books are on loan at the Peter Marsh Library, you can request them using the reservation service. When the books available for loan, we can arrange for you to collection them from either the Queen's Library or the Peter Marsh. You will be notified by email when they are ready for collection.

Our wide range of electronic resources - journals, databases and electronic books- are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, from any device with an Internet connection. Use this Subject Guide to discover the best resources for your subject, and use Discover@Bolton to search across the full text of multiple databases.

Your Subject Librarian can provide support on using these resources and how to get the best out of them to complete your studies. Your Subject Librarian's contact details can be found in the Starting point section of this Subject Guide. 

Study space is provided at the Queen's Library, and you may use unoccupied classrooms for group work. Remember that you are also able to use study facilities at the Peter Marsh Library which include 10 bookable group study rooms and access to the Social Learning Zone (SLZ).

The Library at Queen's provides access to PCs and a multifunctional device to facilitate printing, photocopying and scanning to email. Remember that even if you are based at Queen's, you can of course use all the facilities at the Peter Marsh Library, which include computing facilities.

Self Service at Queen's

The self-issue machine at Queens Library is situated adjacent to the book stock in one corner of the library. It is very easy to use and allows you to check out books, or return ones you have borrowed. Simply follow the instructions on the large touch-screen. 

Borrowing Items 

If you are borrowing items then press 'check out' and place your ID card on the card-reader panel. Once your record is found it will appear on the screen, and you can then place the books on the flat scanning area. You will see the items added to your account on the screen and you may then take them away. 

Returning Items 

If you are returning books, press 'check in' and place them on the flat scanning area under the screen. Try not to place too many on at once. You will see the items check in on the screen. Once the operation is completed the books can then be deposited in the book bin nearby. 

Items to Note

When you have returned or borrowed items the machine will issue a receipt. Please keep your receipt as proof of return or borrowing. If the machine does not dispense a receipt you can view your account online using the 'My Account' feature to check which items you have on loan. 

Further Help

For further help or guidance please speak to a member of staff in Queens Library. You can also contact the Peter Marsh Library on 01204 903094 or contact us via the live chat on the Library website

 

Contact Queen's Library

General library queries:

Call 01204 903084 or send a message to the Help Desk

General IT queries:

Call 01204 903444 or send a message to IT Support

Contact a Librarian:

Call 01204 903232 or send a message to the Librarians

Comments, suggestions and complaints

If you have any comments, suggestions or complaints, visit this page.

Access the Library Catalogue

Use the link below to access the library catalogue: