Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CSS Website Layout
Useful databases for Physiotherapy
Databases are searchable collections of good quality, academic material, particularly journal articles. They can be small subject specific or large collections covering a wide range of subject areas. Most databases provide access to full-text items. Some are
abstract only, so you can establish whether or not the research is suitable for your needs.
A number of databases are recommended for your course; follow the links in this section.
Child Development and Adolescent Studies
All aspects of child development are covered to the age of 21 in this indexing and abstracting database.
CINAHL with Full Text
Nursing and allied health disciplines.
You may find this
A collection of databases that contain different types evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
Europe PubMed Central
Europe PMC is an open science platform that enables access to a worldwide collection of life science publications and preprints from trusted sources around the globe
All medical disciplines including research, clinical and administrative practices, policy issues and healthcare services.
PEDro: Physiotherapy Evidence Database
PEDro is a free database of over 47,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.
Full-text journal articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association
Abstracts and citations of peer-reviewed articles, conference papers and selected websites covering applied psychology, developmental psychology and personality and related topics such as psychiatry, education and social sciences.
Pubmed is a citation and abstract database for biomedical and life sciences, with some links to full text articles.
Archive of full-text biomedical and life sciences journals.
Royal College of Nursing Journals
Full-text journals for those working or studying in nursing or allied health areas.
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.
Additional resources for Physiotherapy
As well as this Subject Guide, you may also find the following useful:
Accessing electronic resources
Click on a resource link and enter your University username and password. A minority of resources require a different username and password - see the box below for details.
When you login to electronic resources you agree a number of terms and conditions which are available in full here.
You may choose to use Discover@Bolton, an individual database or an specific journal. Our quick start guide to finding information for assignments may be helpful:
Finding journals and articles with Discover@Bolton
Discover@Bolton enables you to search across multiple full text electronic resources via a single interface. Enter your search term in the box below and hit "Discover":
Use the options on the left-hand side of the results screen to refine your results. For example, you can filter by item type, subject area or by date.
For further help, two guides are available:
Finding specific journals
If you wish to access a particular journal, search the Ejournals portal, either by title or subject area. Full text access is available for the date range shown under each title.
The Peter Marsh Library
University of Bolton
65 Queen's Street
Follow the Library on...