University of Bolton Library: Mechanical Engineering: Useful websites

Useful websites for Mechanical Engineering

As well as academic resources, you may also find the following suggested websites useful. If you are unsure of what makes a good a website, and whether or not a website should be used as a source for an assignment, the Using the Internet for Research section of LEAP Online will be useful.

American Society of Mechanical Engineers The main aim of the ASME is to foster communication and collaboration among engineers, other professions, industry, government, academia and the general public for mutual understanding of the true role and contributions of engineers and technology.
arXiv arXiv is an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance and statistics, operated by Cornell University.
Design Council This is the web site of the Design Council. It includes information about the Council and its current and future projects and events. There is also an online version of its journal, Design.
Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council The EPSRC is the main UK government agency for funding research and training in engineering and the physical sciences.
Engineering Council The Council's overall strategy includes speaking on national issues where a single powerful voice is needed and forging strong links with government, industry, academia and the media to ensure greater recognition of the vital contribution made by engineering to the national interest. Provides links to various engineering institutions, federations and associations.
Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining The Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining (IOM3) is a major UK engineering institution whose activities encompass the whole materials cycle, from exploration and extraction, through characterisation, processing, forming, finishing and application, to product recycling and land reuse.
Institute of Measurement & Control The InstMC is an international network of professional engineers and scientists working in the measurement, automation and control field.
Institution of Engineering and Technology The IET is one of the world's largest engineering institutions and its remit is to inspire, inform and influence the global engineering community, supporting technology innovation to meet the needs of society.
Institution of Mechanical Engineers The IMechE is committed to 'technology transfer' as well as ensuring the highest professional standards.
Math Tutor Math Tutor provides video tutorials, diagnostic tests and exercises for various areas of mathematics.
Royal Academy of Engineering The UK's national academy for engineering takes a lead on engineering education, invests in the UK’s world-class research base to underpin innovation and works to improve public awareness and understanding of engineering.
Society of Manufacturing Engineers International professional society dedicated to serving its members and the manufacturing community through the advancement of professionalism, knowledge, and learning.
Society of Operations Engineers Nominated Body of the Engineering Council and covers a wide range of activities including acquisition and commissioning, inspection and maintenance, asset management and product improvement.
WolframAlpha Wolfram/Alpha enables you to do dynamic computations online based on a vast collection of built-in data, algorithms, and methods.

Additional resources for Mechanical Engineering

As well as this Subject Guide, you may also find the following useful:

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is Google's academic search engine. It allows you to search for information published in journals and books, for example. It includes an increasing amount on open access material as well content that you would have to pay to access.

You can connect Google Scholar to the Library's holdings to make accessing full text articles easier.

How do I set up Library Links on Google Scholar?

Evaluating websites

The LEAP Online section Using the Internet for Research, has lots of tips for getting the best out of using the internet and avoiding the common pitfalls.

The University of Bolton Library

Mechanical Engineering: Useful websites

Useful websites for Mechanical Engineering

Additional resources for Mechanical Engineering

Google Scholar

Evaluating websites

Useful university resources