The BSc Adult Nursing programme has a number of partners and access to NHS Libraries is available to students studying whilst on placement. Listed below are details of our partners and information regarding their services. If you have any further questions please contact the relevant Library service or Dawn Grundy here at University of Bolton. We also work in partnership with Petroc & Bradford College. Further details on Library services at these sites can be found via clicking on the Partner Sites tab above.
Please note this list will be updated as regularly as possible.
Education Centre Library
Based at Royal Bolton Hospital in the Education Centre, Library Services are available to all NHS students on placement at Bolton.
The Library is open:
Mon – Thurs 8.00am – 6.00pm
Friday 8.00am – 5.30pm
Facilities include a Computer Room (no need to book a PC), Meeting Room and Quiet Study Room in addition to the main Library. You can search the catalogue at: bolton.nhslibraries.com
If you miss the induction to Library Services which will be organised for your cohort, please call in to join and have a guided tour.
Find out more about services and contact details here: http://www.boltonft.nhs.uk/work-with-us/learn-with-us/library-services/
Health Library & Information Services
The library and resources are available for any student to use whilst they are on placement here. We are based in the Education Centre, Field House and access is available 24/7 with your trust ID badge. Students on placement are able to borrow books and can also access our electronic resources, such as databases, electronic journals and our point of care tools, Dynamed and BMJ Best Practice, with an Open Athens username and password. To register for Open Athens please complete this form https://openathens.nice.org.uk/
The library also provides a current awareness service to help you to keep up to date on a variety of subjects which you can sign up to here https://www.surveymonkey.co.uk/r/2DW2YYZ
The library staff are here to help so if you have any questions about our service, and want to arrange some training on using electronic resources or completing literature searches, just let us know.
Telephone: 0127 364130
Library Services from Lancashire Teaching Hospitals for all Bolton Nursing Students.
Access the libraries at Preston and Chorley hospitals 24/7 with your Trust ID badge. Use the self-issue machine outside of staffed hours to borrow and return books.
We have a quiet room at Preston, single study carrels at both sites and plenty of computers which you don’t need to book.
You have access to all the electronic journals and books the library subscribes to as well as Internurse, a nursing database which contains full-text journals including the BJN.
We can offer you training on how to search clinical databases to find the best evidence for clinical practice or your studies.
Contact the library on 01772 522763 or email firstname.lastname@example.org for more information.
The library is on Level 1 of the North Devon District Hospital in Barnstaple. All staff, students and volunteers are welcome. We are here to help you, please ask us about our library services.
The library is staffed Monday – Friday 8.30am-5.00pm. The medical section of the library is accessible by key code24/7. All library members are given the code when they join the library.
We provide access to books and electronic resources including the MAH Complete collection of nursing journals. https://www.magonlinelibrary.com
Use our Discovery Search to find or request our resources at www.northdevonhealth.nhs.uk/library/ and click on the discovery search logo. Register for your own NHS OpenAthens to enable you to search for information on topics of interest. Library staff can provide a 1:1 training session on how to search the databases for information to support your study.
Just ask us, we are here to support you with your study and during your placement.
Library Services from Airedale NHS Foundation Trust
Airedale NHS library services can be used by all staff and students of the trust. We offer a range of resources and services which support clinical practice, service development, and all aspects of learning, education and continued professional development.
For more details about the Library Services available through Airedale NHS Foundation Trust: click here.
The library is staffed Monday – Friday 9:00 am – 5:00 pm. We are closed on weekends and bank holidays. Outside of these hours the IT and Study Space areas can be accessed at any time using your Trust ID badge/Swipe-card, and out on-line resources can be accessed at any time.
You can find lots of information and tutorials on our website. There are also links to recommended resources and news.
Website : www.educationairedale.co.uk/library
The Library is a multidisciplinary resource available to all Trust based clinical and non-clinical staff, students, researchers, educators and learners.
Details are available here on the Library Services available through Manchester Foundation Trust: https://mft.nhs.uk/medical-education/trust-library/
Trust Library Services
The libraries at Wrightington Wigan and Leigh hold a diverse range of resources relating to medicine, nursing, midwifery, health care, NHS policy and management. We are a multi-disciplinary and multi-professional service offering assistance to all staff and students at Wrightington, Wigan and Leigh NHS Foundation Trust.
Details on the Trust Library Service are available here.