Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections

Lancashire Authors Association Collection

The Lancashire Authors Association is devoted to the study of Lancashire literature, history, traditions and dialect. The LAA has been promoting the reading and writing of Lancashire literature since 1909.

The LAA Library was founded in Horwich in 1921. The collection has been housed in a range of locations since then, including Manchester and Accrington, before moving to the University of Bolton in it's centenary year.

Teddy Ashton's Lancashire Annual
Illustration from John Ashton's
A selection of Co-Operative Wholesale Society Annuals

About the Collection

The LAA Collection comprises of over 2000 items of literature, prose and periodicals relating to history, traditions and dialect of Lancashire. The collection includes works by Edwin Waugh, Elizabeth Gaskell and Samuel Laycock among others. 

Professor Robert Snape, Professor of Cultural History and Head of the Centre for Worktown StudiesThe Lancashire Authors' Association collection is a great asset to the University. As a unique historical record of Lancashire's literary culture it complements both the Worktown Collection and the Andrew Bullen Cotton Industry Collection. While supporting teaching in several areas, researchers will benefit greatly through the facility to cross-interrogate these collections.

Professor Robert Snape, Professor of Cultural History and Head of the Centre for Worktown Studies

Professor Paul Salveson, LAA Librarian and Visiting Professor in Worktown StudiesThe library collection of the Lancashire Authors' Association stretches back a century. The proposal to establish a library was approved at a meeting of the association held at the Railway Mechanics' Institute, Horwich. It has grown into one of the largest collections of regional literature in the country and the LAA is delighted that it is now in the safe care of the University of Bolton. There is enormous scope to develop the collection and make it available to a wider audience.

Professor Paul Salveson, LAA Librarian and Visiting Professor in Worktown Studies

Searching the Collection

The LAA collection has been moved to the Peter Marsh Library at the University of Bolton and is currently being catalogued and prepared for shelving. A spreadsheet of the collection is available here

Once catalogued the collection will be searchable via Discover@Bolton. The Library will work to increase the discoverability of the collection in future, supporting the work of the LAA to bring Lancashire literature and dialect to a global audience. 

If you have any enquiries about the collection, please Contact Us.