Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections

The Quilters Guild Collection

The Quilters’ Guild was founded in 1979 by a group of quilting enthusiasts and has grown from a founding membership of 300 to over 6,500 individual members today. 

The University of Bolton has been home to a significant part of the Quilters Guild Library collection since 2016. 

Quilters Guild books in the Special Collections area of the Peter Marsh Library

About the Collection

The Quilters Guild Collection contains nearly 2000 items focused on quilt making, patchworks, pattern design and the textile arts. It covers styles and techniques from a wide range of countries and historial periods. The collection is used on the University's Fashion and Textiles programmes.

 

Searching the Collection

You can browse the Quilters Guild Special Collection via the Library catalogue. Results from the collection are also displayed in Discover@Bolton. 

The collection has it's own classmark system. This consists of a prefix and a suffix. Eg. P/QUI

The prefix represents the following subject areas in the collection:

Prefix Subject
A Amish and Mennonite
C

Christmas

D Design
E

Embellishment

H

Historical

G

General Embroidery

PG Patchwork - General
PM Patchwork - Manipulated
Y Young Quilters

The suffix is normally the first three letters of the book title but may also be the first three letters of the authors name. If you are having any trouble locating an item in the collection, please ask a member of staff.