Skip to main content

Accessing Electronic Resources: Resource access: FAQs

Frequently Asked Questions

‚Äč

How do I access electronic resources?

To find out which resources are recommended for your subject area, go to the Subject Guides section of the library website.

Most of our resources can be accessed both on- and off-campus, and most can be accessed simply by entering your Bolton network ID and username when prompted, and most will require you to use your Bolton network ID and password. You’ll find lots of help on accessing resources on the library website, and there is information in LEAP Online to help you get the most of electronic resources. Any resources that require anything different for logging in are indicated.

Top

What sort of resources do I have access to?

As a member of the University of Bolton, you can access all of our subscribed-to electronic resources: around 70 databases; over 30,000 electronic journals; several thousand electronic books. In addition, you also have access to RefWorks, online bibliographic management software. If we subscribe to it, you can access it! We also signpost to a number of quality open access resources.

Within databases, material to which we do have access is usually indicated by an icon/symbol by the article/journal in the database. This might be a green tick, or perhaps an open padlock. In some cases, you can only tell whether or not we have access when you are trying to access an individual article. We are working with journals suppliers to ensure that the process of accessing material is as simple as possible.

Top

Can I access resources from home?

Yes, absolutely! Many of our library resources are available electronically, 24 hours a day, seven days a week, which means that you can access them as long as you have an Internet connection. Most of our resources are accessible off-campus, including the library catalogue. Be aware that use of resources is restricted to support the academic activities of staff and students at the University of Bolton, and must not be used for any commercial activities

Top

I'm based at Queen's - can I access electronic resources there?

Of course! Electronic resources are available 24 hours a day, seven days a week, and from anywhere with an Internet connection. 

Top

How can I access full text journal articles online?

The simplest way to access full text journal articles is to head to your Subject Guide and use Discover@Bolton. Refine searches by "Full text only". 

Top

What is Discover@Bolton?

Discover@Bolton allows you to search across the full text of multiple databases via a single interface. 

Top

How can I access ebooks?

Ebooks are accessible via Discover@Bolton; details of printed books can be found here too. You can also search for and access ebooks on the library catalogue. Head to the Subject Guides and the tab on Books for further information.  Some of our e-books can only be read by a certain number of people at any one time, so if you find that you are unable to open an e-book, it might be the case that it is in use by someone else, so just try again later. 

Top

I'm based at a partner institution - can I use electronic resources?

Yes, you can, but the resources you can use may be restricted. In addition, staff at partner institutions may need to be sponsored by member of staff based at the University of Bolton. For further information, contact the Subject Help Desk.

Top

Why am I being asked to register with a particular resource?

Some resources require personal registration before you can use them, even if you have already logged into the resource with your Bolton network ID and password. These resources include Digimap, ESDS and Zetoc Alerts. Other resources, such as ProQuest databases and Emerald Journals, allow you to save search results and personalise your account.

Top

Are there any browser requirements for accessing electronic resources?

Your browser software must be able to support JavaScript and cookies. Most browsers enable both features by default. If you suspect that these settings are disabled on your browser, see your browser's Help menu for further information on "cookies" and "JavaScript". You must also remember to set your Internet Security to Medium/Low, otherwise you will not be able to log in. It is advisable to reset your settings after you have accessed our resources. Electronic resources should work with most popular combinations of operating system and browser. If you are having particular difficulties, please get in touch and we will liaise with the provider of the resource if necessary.

Top

The resource I want to access requires a different username and password - how do I get hold of these?

To obtain separate usernames and passwords – used for a minority of our resources – get in touch with the Subject Help Desk.

Top

How do I reference work, and is there any software available to me that I can use?

There is plenty of help available on how to reference your work, including crib sheets and longer guides. In addition, take a look at the relevant sections in LEAP Online. Referencing your work correctly is vitally important, so it’s worth taking the time to get it right. The University of Bolton has access to RefWorks.

Top

How can I access my reading lists?

Reading Lists Online (RLO) is a service that enables you to access your reading lists electronically. Access RLO from with your Subject Guide, the library homepage or from within Moodle.

Top

How do I find out about access problems, developments and where to go for help?

Visit the e-resources blog at http://eresourcesbolton.wordpress.com/ for news. You can sign up for an RSS feed which will bring you news straight to your desktop. For help, head to the Subject Guide for your course. 

Top

Contact the Library

General library queries:

Call 01204 903094 or send a message to the Help Desk

General IT queries:

Call 01204 903444 or send a message to IT Support

Contact a Librarian:

Call 01204 903232 or send a message to the Librarians

Comments, suggestions and complaints

If you have any comments, suggestions or complaints, visit this page.

Electronic Resources Librarian

bottom logo