Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CSS Website Layout
logo

The University of Bolton Library

Accessing Online Library Resources

Electronic Library Resources: Understanding terms and phrases

Young asian male student working in bright office space with green plants

Here are some of the terms and phrases related to online library resources that you may come across as you work with them.

Glossary

 

Authentication Logging into a resource
Database A searchable collection of academic material. A database can be full text, or bibliographic details only
Discover@Bolton Search across the full text of multiple databases using a single, online interface
Ebook An online book. Ebooks are the same as printed books in terms of content; they are just presented in a different format
E-journal Another name for an electronic journal
E-journals portal Our list of electronic journals. Search for title, ISSN or browse by subject. To search within these journals, use Discover@Bolton
Electronic journal A journal that is available online
Electronic resource A resource such as a book, journal or database that is available online
E-resource Another name for an electronic resource
Full-text database A database that provides access to full-text, for example, articles or books.
Journal An academic publication of articles, sometimes known as a periodical, that can be available in print or electronic form
Library Catalogue A searchable, online database of the library's print collection, including links to ebooks where available. Use the catalogue to search for title, author or subject
Logging in The process of accessing an electronic resource. Use your network ID and password when prompted
Off-campus Any location that is not the University of Bolton main campus or Queen's. Off-campus could be your home, your place of work, or even overseas
On-campus The University of Bolton main campus, or Queen's
OPAC An alternative term for catalogue (Online Public Access Catalogue)
Periodical A collection of academic articles, often known as a journal
Resource Online reading lists including links to electronic resources where available
Resource Lists Online or RLO Online reading lists including links to electronic resources where available
Subject Guides Your one-stop shop for information relevant to your subject area, including links to your databases and downloadable help guides
Username Your network ID. If you are student, this will typically take the form of abc1xyz.