University of Bolton Library: Film and Media Production: Useful websites

Useful websites for Media Production

As well as academic resources, you may also find the following suggested websites useful. If you are unsure of what makes a good a website, and whether or not a website should be used as a source for an assignment, the Using the Internet for Research section of LEAP Online will be useful.

Broadcast now Broadcast now is the online service from Broadcast, the weekly publication for the UK television and radio industry. Features include a daily industry news headline update, events listings and a jobs database, searchable by job category, location or organisation name. There is also a links page, providing links to television organisations.
Cybercinema A selection of downloadable short films, frequently updated, representing the Guardian's idea of what is best in recent short film releases.
Drew's Script-O-Rama Provides access to transcripts, drafts and scripts of many films.
Film Network Film Network is designed to showcase new UK film talent by screening short films and profiling the people who made them.
Internet Movie Database (IMDb) Database covering more than 150,000 films. Easy to search and includes reviews, technical information and images.
Luxonline Luxonline provides a useful web resource for exploring British based artists' film and video in-depth.
Shooting People- UK Filmmakers Network You will need to register to get full use of the information available on this website. Once registered you can get in touch with thousands of other people working in the independent film industry.
Simply Scripts Links to hundreds of scripts, screenplays, and transcripts of current, classic and maybe a few soon-to-be-released movies, television, Anime, and radio shows.
Virtual Script Workshop Provides free information on screenwriting, courses, competitions and opportunities.
Vision+Media North West regional organisation for digital and creative industries.
Voice of the Shuttle: Creative Writing Contains Internet resources in the area of creative writing.
Writers Room Provides guidelines for writing for radio and television, and also provides access to scripts and transcripts and information on how to submit scripts to the BBC.
Writers Guild of Great Britain The Writers’ Guild of Great Britain (WGGB) is a trade union representing professional writers in TV, film, theatre, radio, books, comedy, poetry, animation and videogames. Our members also include emerging and aspiring writers.

Additional resources for Media Production

As well as this Subject Guide, you may also find the following useful:

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is Google's academic search engine. It allows you to search for information published in journals and books, for example. It includes an increasing amount on open access material as well content that you would have to pay to access.

You can connect Google Scholar to the Library's holdings to make accessing full text articles easier.

How do I set up Library Links on Google Scholar?

Apps for Media Writing and Production

Not all apps may be available for all devices. To search for an app go to your device's app store e.g. iTunes Store for iPad or Google Play Store for Android devices. Some apps may require subscription or a payment.

Internet Movie Database (IMDb) Database covering more than 150,000 films. Easy to search and includes reviews, technical information and images.

Are you using something not listed here?

Get in touch and let us know!

Useful university resources

Evaluating websites

The LEAP Online section Using the Internet for Research, has lots of tips for getting the best out of using the internet and avoiding the common pitfalls.

The University of Bolton Library

Film and Media Production: Useful websites