Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CSS Website Layout
logo

The University of Bolton Library

Scopus

Scopus

Scopus is a leading abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly content.

Quickly find relevant research, identify experts and access reliable data, metrics and analytical tools for confident research strategy decisions.

Scopus has more than 80 million records — and that number is growing all the time.

What's an Abstact and Citation database? 

Scopus is an abstract and citation database. While it doesn't contain the full text of articles, it enables you to search a huge collection of scholarly publications, which you then may be able to access from another Library database or subscription from the University of Bolton.

  • Abstracts are brief synopses of articles.
  • A citation gives credit to a source, and contains publication information such as author(s), title and date. Most Scopus citations link to the full-text version of the publication hosted on various publishers' platforms.

If you find a publication in Scopus that we don't subscribe to, we may be able to acquire it by Inter Library Loan for you.

The Scopus Data Model

Scopus data recognizes that articles are written by authors who have affiliations with institutions.

This relational data model means that Scopus can tell you who is researching what in global literature and where they are doing it. 

Why use Scopus?

Scopus has more advanced search tools than Discover@Bolton, enabling you to search by affiliation and find connections between publications and researchers.

Its particularly suited to:

  • undertaking an in-depth literature review
  • identifying the research impact of journals and researchers
  • helping you choose a journal to publish with
  • identifying potential collaborators to work with