The University of Bolton Library proudly announces the arrival of the Polari Prize Collection. This is a significant addition to our resources coinciding with LGBT+ History Month in February 2024. This collection celebrates LGBTQ+ literature, featuring the remarkable Polari Prize winners and nominees.
Spotlight on the 2023 Polari Prize Winners
Polari Book Prize 2023 Winner:
- "Our Wives Under the Sea" by Julia Armfield: This captivating novel has garnered critical acclaim for its innovative narrative and striking portrayal of queer relationships.
Polari First Book Prize 2023 Winner:
- "None of the Above: Reflections on Life Beyond the Binary" by Travis Alabanza: A groundbreaking debut that challenges conventional narratives about gender and identity.
2023 Shortlisted Books
In addition to the winners, our collection includes the shortlisted books for the Polari Book Prize 2023. These books showcase a diverse range of voices and stories from the LGBTQ+ community:
- "All Down Darkness Wide: A Memoir" by Sean Hewitt
- "Here Again Now" by Okechukwu Nzelu
- "The Schoolhouse" by Sophie Ward
- "Young Mungo" by Douglas Stuart
Celebrating Past Winners
Our collection also highlights winners from previous years, reflecting LGBTQ+ literature's rich history and evolution:
- 2022: "C+nto: & Othered Poems" by Joelle Taylor (Polari Book Prize)
- 2021: "A Dutiful Boy: A Memoir of Secrets, Lies and Family Love" by Mohsin Zaidi (Polari First Book Prize)
- 2020: "Life as a Unicorn: A Journey from Shame to Pride and Everything in Between" by Amrou Al-Kadhi (Polari First Book Prize)
- 2019: "In at the Deep End" by Kate Davies (Polari Book Prize)
- 2018: "Playtime" by Andrew McMillan (Polari Book Prize)
About the Polari Prize
The Polari Prize is the UK's only award dedicated to celebrating LGBTQ+ literature. It encompasses the Polari First Book Prize, celebrating new voices and literary debuts, and the Polari Book Prize, recognizing established authors.
Join Us in Celebrating LGBTQ+ Literature
We invite students, faculty, and the community to explore the Polari Prize Collection. This collection is a testament to the diversity, creativity, and resilience of the LGBTQ+ community. It offers insights and reflections across a spectrum of experiences and narratives.
The full reading list of our Polari Prize collection can be found here.
0 Comments.