Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CSS Website Layout
logo

The University of Bolton Library

Live Events, Stage Management and Visual Production

Databases, Journals and Articles

Happy female student studying in front of a bright window

Useful Databases 

Databases are searchable collections of good quality, academic material, particularly journal articles.  They can be small subject specific or large collections covering a wide range of subject areas. Most databases provide access to full-text items. Some are abstract only, so you can establish whether or not the research is suitable for your needs.

Key databases for your subject are listed below. Databases showing the "D@B" icon are indexed by Discover@Bolton - so if you are searching Discover there may not be a need to search that database separately.

However some subject databases feature more advanced search features than Discover@Bolton, so you may wish to consult them separately to be thorough. 

Useful Databases

Featured Journals

The following journals, magazines and trade publication are all available online. Click the titles to browse issues. You can search across thousands of journals by searching Discover@Bolton or our databases.

Finding Specific Journals

If you wish to access a particular journal, search either by title or by subject area using the Ejournals portal:

The EJournals Portal includes access to the Article Linker, which allows you to search for specific articles. Have a look at the help guide below:

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is Google's popular academic search engine. 

Google Scholar logo

If you use Google Scholar you can connect it the Library's holdings to make accessing full text articles easier. 

How do I set up Library Links on Google Scholar? 

Accessing Online Library Resources

Having problems accessing any of our online resources? Our dedicated guide has troubleshooting steps and more