University of Bolton Library: Clinical Practice: Websites, Apps and Podcasts

Useful Websites

As well as academic resources, you may also find the following suggested websites useful. If you are unsure of what makes a good a website, and whether or not a website should be used as a source for an assignment, the Using the Internet for Research section of LEAP Online will be useful.

Department of Health Information on public health, adult social care and the NHS.
Guidelines for Nurses Summaries and resources to support best practice.
Institute of Health Care Management News, events, discussion forum etc. Also provides summaries of its reports.
The Kings Fund (How does the NHS work?) How does the NHS in England work? An alternative guide
Medical Research Council The MRC promotes and sponsors research into all areas of medical and related science with the aim of improving the health and quality of life of the UK public.
National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE) Provides independent, authoritative and evidence-based guidance on the most effective ways to prevent, diagnose and treat disease and ill health, reducing inequalities and variation.
NHS Acronym Buster Created by the NHS to allow users to help manage their health. The apps have been reviewed by NHS staff to ensure they are clinically safe.
NHS Choices The UK’s largest Health website. Contains information for patients and NHS services.
NHS Evidence NHS Evidence is a service that provides easy access to high quality clinical and non-clinical information about health and social care. NHS Evidence hosts content and searches external sources of information so that users can access it directly. For information on how to access NHS Athens accounts contact the Health Librarian - Dawn Grundy
NHS Primary Group Alliance An organisation representing primary care, primary care organisations and people, professionals and managers working with them.
Nursing and Midwifery Council NMC is the statutory regulatory board set up to ensure that nurses, midwives and health visitors in the United Kingdom provide high standards of care to their patients and clients.
Royal College of Nursing The RCN has released two podcasts, Past Caring and Nursing Matters. Click on the link to listen on a range of platforms.
Trip Database Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.
World Health Organisation Information, reports and statistics on world health matters.

Bolton CAMHS: Child and Adolescent Mental Health Services Service offering help for children and young people, usually between the ages of five and 18 who live in Bolton.
Mind Information & Support organisation aimed at better mental health.
Papyrus Papyrus is the national charity dedicated to the prevention of young suicide.
Together Together is a national mental health charity working alongside people with mental health issues on their journey towards independent and fulfilling lives.
Young Minds The UK's leading charity fighting for children and young people's mental health. We will make sure all young people get the best possible mental health.
Rethink Mental Illness Rethink Mental Illness is a mental health charity in England. The website contains information, advice and support to keep people safe and well in the community.
Student Minds The UK’s student mental health charity.
Anxiety UK Anxiety UK work to relieve and support those living with anxiety and anxiety-based depression by providing information, support and understanding via an extensive range of services, including 1:1 therapy.

Royal College of Nursing: Children and Young People Information from the RCN for those working with children and young people. Includes careers resources and forums.
What is a Children's Nurse? Student-led article from nurses.co.uk exploring the role of children's nurses.
Bolton CAMHS: Child and Adolescent Mental Health Services Service offering help for children and young people, usually between the ages of five and 18 who live in Bolton.
WellChild WellChild is the national UK charity for sick children.
Standards for Community Children’s Nurse Education and Practice Standards developed by the Queen’s Nursing Institute (QNI) and Queen’s Nursing Institute Scotland (QNIS). The standards make explicit the practice expectations of Community Children’s Nurses on completing a Specialist Practice Qualification (SPQ).
Royal College of Paediatrics and Child Health The membership body for paediatricians and other child health professionals in the UK and around the world.
Children's Cancer and Leukaemia Group (CCLG) The CCLG is the national association of healthcare professionals involved in the treatment and care of children and younger teenagers with cancer.
British Association for Child and Adolescent Public Health (BACAPH) The BACAPH is dedicated to the development of child public health within both paediatrics and public health.

Podcasts

Podcasts can be a great way to learn or keep up to date with current practice in your specialist area. The following Podcasts have been recommended by academic tutors and staff here at the University.

Anthony's Nursing Podcast Anthony's Nursing Podcast talks about different subjects such as leadership, dyslexia and reflective practice with nurses, students and other healthcare professionals
Cochrane Podcasts Cochrane podcasts deliver the latest Cochrane evidence in an easy to access audio format, allowing you to stay up to date on newly published reviews wherever you are.
Coronavirus: The Whole Story The 'Coronavirus: The Whole Story' podcast highlights UCL's interdisciplinary expertise on COVID-19 - focusing on its management, mitigation, eventual halt, and preparing for a post-coronavirus world.
COVID-19: The Search for a Vaccine The Search for a Vaccine” is a series of podcasts which throws light on the work of the UK’s Vaccine Taskforce in co-ordinating and expediting efforts to protect the UK against COVID-19 through vaccination as quickly as possible. The series looks at the most promising research; the different approaches to producing a vaccine; and how suitable vaccines are identified and acquired.
Just One Thing - Michael Mosely BBC podcast with tips for improving health and wellbeing
The Kings Fund Podcast The King's Fund podcast: Big ideas in health and care
Royal College of Nursing Podcasts The RCN Podcasts page includes links to the two Podcast series -Nursing Matters and Past Caring.

Apps for Nursing

Not all apps may be available for all devices. To search for an app go to your device's app store e.g. iTunes Store for iPad or Google Play Store for Android devices. Some apps may require subscription or a payment.

Adult Drug Calculations This useful app will help with learning formulae to calculate and administer drugs for adults, practice your skills and contains a quiz to see how well you are doing. This app is also available for Android devices.
BNF & BNFC App Giving you access to practical, evidence-based medicines information wherever you are
British Medical Journal The BMJ has a number of apps. See the above link for details of the BMJ’s available apps on iTunes. Some of the BMJ apps are also available for Android, just search on Google Play Store.
Cochrane Library The Cochrane Library app for iPad is a unique way of looking at content from the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews.
Dementia Understanding stress and distress An app containing information and advice for supporting people with dementia.
Geeky Medics The Geeky Medics app provides a comprehensive collection of clinical skills guides in an intuitive interface. The app is available for iPhone, iPad and Android devices.
Guidelines for Nurses The Guidelines for Nurses app contains concise summaries of major primary and shared care clinical guidelines from the UK, and covers 17 broad clinical areas. It is fully searchable, contains all the current summaries from GuidelinesforNurses.co.uk and is updated monthly.
NHS Apps Library
Student Health App The Student Health App provides easy access to more than 900 pages of reliable health information all in one place. The content has been created for university students by NHS doctors and is regularly updated.

Other sources for apps

There are a number of apps available for students studying anatomy and physiology. The following page is a useful guide:

https://appolicious.com/the-best-iphone-apps-for-anatomy-students/

General Apps

The following links list mainly American apps. Always check user ratings/reviews before downloading!

The LEAP Online section Using the Internet for Research, has lots of tips for getting the best out of using the internet and avoiding the common pitfalls.

The University of Bolton Library

Clinical Practice

Latest News from the Library

Useful Websites

Podcasts

Apps for Nursing

Other sources for apps

General Apps

Useful university resources

University links