University of Bolton Library: Operating Department Practice: Databases, journals and articles

Databases, Journals and Articles

Useful Databases

Databases are searchable collections of good quality, academic material, particularly journal articles. They can be small subject specific or large collections covering a wide range of subject areas. Most databases provide access to full-text items. Some are abstract only, so you can establish whether or not the research is suitable for your needs.

Key databases for your subject are listed below. Databases showing the "D" icon are indexed by Discover@Bolton - so if you are searching Discover there may not be a need to search that database separately.

However some subject databases feature more advanced search features than Discover@Bolton, so you may wish to consult them separately to be thorough.

Guide to Database Icons:

	Indexed in Discover@Bolton
	Full text available in this database
	Abstract and Indexing Database: this may not contain the full text of articles but will link you to where they can be accessed.
	Open Access database
	Video Content
	Official Statistics Indicator

Databases for Operating Department Practice

Child Development and Adolescent Studies
All aspects of child development are covered to the age of 21 in this indexing and abstracting database.
CINAHL with Full Text
Key database for nursing and allied health disciplines, which indexes over 3000 active, peer-reviewed journals. You may find this training video helpful.
Cochrane Library
A collection of databases that contain different types evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
Europe PubMed Central
Europe PMC is an open science platform that enables access to a worldwide collection of life science publications and preprints from trusted sources around the globe
MEDLINE
All medical disciplines including research, clinical and administrative practices, policy issues and healthcare services.
ProQuest Central
ProQuest Central, which provides access to nearly 30 separate databases, is a multi-disciplinary database with coverage of over 160 subject areas.
Quick Start Guide to ProQuest Central.
International Newsstream (ProQuest)
International Newsstream provides the most recent news content outside of the US and Canada, with archives which stretch back decades in active full-text format. Includes the latest content from major UK news publications, including The Times, The Guardian and The Daily Telegraph.
Royal College of Nursing Journals
Full-text journals for those working or studying in nursing or allied health areas.
PubMed
Pubmed is a citation and abstract database for biomedical and life sciences, with some links to full text articles.
PubMed Central
Archive of full-text biomedical and life sciences journals.
ScienceDirect
Full-text multi-disciplinary journals with an emphasis on scientific disciplines, including life sciences, medical and technological. Visit our in depth guide on ScienceDirect
Scopus
Abstracts and citations of over 15,000 peer-reviewed journal articles and conference papers. Visit our Scopus guide for more information and a range of video tutorials
Trip Database
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is Google's popular academic search engine.

If you use Google Scholar you can connect it the Library's holdings to make accessing full text articles easier.

How do I set up Library Links on Google Scholar?

Featured Journals for Operating Department Practice

Applied Nursing Research Applied Nursing Research presents original, peer-reviewed research findings clearly and directly for clinical applications in all nursing specialties. Regular features include "Ask the Experts," research briefs, clinical methods, book reviews, news and announcements, and an editorial section. Applied Nursing Research covers such areas as pain management, patient education, discharge planning, nursing diagnosis, job stress in nursing, nursing influence on length of hospital stay, and nurse/physician collaboration.
BMC Nursing BMC Nursing is an open access, peer-reviewed journal that considers articles on all aspects of nursing research, training, education and practice.
BMC Surgery BMC Surgery is an open access, peer-reviewed journal that considers articles on surgical research, training, and practice.
British Journal of Community Nursing Promotes excellence in primary care by publishing clinical reviews, clinical updates, innovations in practice, research and development, and education.
British Journal of Nursing Presents the latest developments in clinical and practice-based nursing.
Intensive and Critical Care Nursing The aims of Intensive and Critical Care Nursing are to promote excellence of care of critically ill patients by specialist nurses and their professional colleagues; to provide an international and interdisciplinary forum for the publication, dissemination and exchange of research findings, experience and ideas; to develop and enhance the knowledge, skills, attitudes and creative thinking essential to good critical care nursing practice. The journal publishes reviews, updates and feature articles in addition to original papers and significant preliminary communications. Articles may deal with any part of practice including relevant clinical, research, educational, psychological and technological aspects.
Journal of Neonatal Nursing This is the practical, bimonthly, research-based journal for all professionals concerned with the care of neonates and their families, both in hospital and the community. It aims to support the development of the essential practice, management, education and health promotion skills required by these professionals.
Patient Safety in Surgery Patient Safety in Surgery is an open access journal that publishes articles on all issues related to safety and quality of patient care in surgery and surgical subspecialties. The journal provides a scientific platform for specialists from all surgical fields and for other healthcare professionals to report, discuss, debate, and critically review all aspects related to errors, complications, and other safety issues in the management of patients undergoing surgical procedures
Perioperative Care and Operating Room Management This journal serves as a multidisciplinary, peer-reviewed source of information related to the administrative, economic, operational, safety, and quality aspects of the ambulatory and in-patient operating room and interventional procedural processes. As the official journal of the Society of Perioperative Assessment and Quality Improvement (SPAQI), the journal provides high-quality information and research findings on operational and system-based approaches to ensure safe, coordinated, and high-value periprocedural care.

Finding Specific Journals

If you wish to access a particular journal, search either by title or by subject area using the Ejournals portal:

Search the EJournals Portal

The EJournals Portal includes access to the Article Linker, which allows you to search for specific articles. Have a look at the help guide below:

Guide to Article Linker

Accessing Online Library Resources

Having problems accessing any of our online resources? Our dedicated guide has troubleshooting steps and more.

The University of Bolton Library

Operating Department Practice

Your Academic Librarian