University of Bolton Library: Social Work : Databases, journals and articles

Databases, Journals and Articles

Useful Databases

Databases are searchable collections of good quality, academic material, particularly journal articles. They can be small subject specific or large collections covering a wide range of subject areas. Most databases provide access to full-text items. Some are abstract only, so you can establish whether or not the research is suitable for your needs.

Key databases for your subject are listed below. Databases showing the "D" icon are indexed by Discover@Bolton - so if you are searching Discover there may not be a need to search that database separately.

However some subject databases feature more advanced search features than Discover@Bolton, so you may wish to consult them separately to be thorough.

Guide to Database Icons:

	Indexed in Discover@Bolton
	Full text available in this database
	Abstract and Indexing Database: this may not contain the full text of articles but will link you to where they can be accessed.
	Open Access database
	Video Content
	Official Statistics Indicator

Databases for Social Work

Child Development and Adolescent Studies
All aspects of child development are covered to the age of 21 in this indexing and abstracting database.
CINAHL with Full Text
Key database for nursing and allied health disciplines, which indexes over 3000 active, peer-reviewed journals. You may find this training video helpful.
Healthcare Administration Database (ProQuest)
Part of the ProQuest Central database, this resource supports researcher studying the filed of health adminstration in topics such as hospitals, insurance, law, statistics, business management, personnel management, ethics and health economics.
International Newsstream (ProQuest)
International Newsstream provides the most recent news content outside of the US and Canada, with archives which stretch back decades in active full-text format. Includes the latest content from major UK news publications, including The Times, The Guardian and The Daily Telegraph.
ProQuest Central
ProQuest Central, which provides access to nearly 30 separate databases, is a multi-disciplinary database with coverage of over 160 subject areas.
Quick Start Guide to ProQuest Central.
PsycARTICLES
Full-text journal articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association
PsycINFO
Abstracts and citations of peer-reviewed articles, conference papers and selected websites covering applied psychology, developmental psychology and personality and related topics such as psychiatry, education and social sciences.
ScienceDirect
Full-text multi-disciplinary journals with an emphasis on scientific disciplines, including life sciences, medical and technological. Visit our in depth guide on ScienceDirect
Scopus
Abstracts and citations of over 15,000 peer-reviewed journal articles and conference papers. Visit our Scopus guide for more information and a range of video tutorials

Legal Databases and Reports

LexisLibrary
Full-text documents concerning cases and legislation among others.
Westlaw
Case law, news, commentary as well as full-text journal articles.
Criminal Justice Database
Part of the ProQuest Central database, this resource provides research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.

Featured Journals for Social Work

British Journal of Social Work Published for the British Association of Social Workers, this is the leading academic social work journal in the UK. It covers every aspect of social work, with papers reporting research, discussing practice, and examining principles and theories. It is read by social work educators, researchers, practitioners and managers who wish to keep up to date with theoretical and empirical developments in the field.
Child and Family Social Work Child & Family Social Work publishes original and distinguished contributions on matters of research, theory, policy and practice in the field of social work with children and their families.
Children and Youth Services Review Children and Youth Services Review is an international, multidisciplinary journal that focuses on disadvantaged or otherwise vulnerable children, young people, families and the systems designed to support them. The journal provides a forum for rigorous scholarship relevant to policies, interventions, programs and services intended to improve well-being.
Human Service Organizations: Management, Leadership and Governance Human Service Organizations is a leading, peer-reviewed journal dedicated to current research and practice in nonprofit and public sector human service organizations. Since 1977, it has provided timely and relevant research for human service managers, researchers and educators (originally established as Administration in Social Work).
Youth & Society Youth & Society is a multidisciplinary peer-reviewed journal that focuses on issues related to the 10-24 year old population. It covers both the U.S. and global adolescent populations. Relevant topics include a wide array of issues ranging from individual level factors to policy concerns pertinent to adolescence - and the social, contextual, and political factors that influence healthy and harmful adolescent development.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is Google's popular academic search engine.

If you use Google Scholar you can connect it the Library's holdings to make accessing full text articles easier.

How do I set up Library Links on Google Scholar?

Finding Specific Journals

If you wish to access a particular journal, search either by title or by subject area using the Ejournals portal:

Search the EJournals Portal

The EJournals Portal includes access to the Article Linker, which allows you to search for specific articles. Have a look at the help guide below:

Guide to Article Linker

Accessing Online Library Resources

Having problems accessing any of our online resources? Our dedicated guide has troubleshooting steps and more.

The University of Bolton Library

Social Work