This video covers the Advanced Search feature on the ProQuest platform, but does apply to the Vogue Archive.
Use the Advanced Search to create a more structured query, searching across different fields. Enter your search term, then use the pull-down menus to the right to select the search fields you want to target, and between each row select Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) to connect your search terms.
View the full list of Searchable Fields on the Vogue Archive, including Company/Brand and Designer.
You can also limit your search to items containing Full text from ProQuest and Peer Reviewed items to only find documents reviewed by subject matter experts. Use the Publication date menu to target a date range or a specific date.
From the Advanced Search page you may find a link to the thesaurus feature. A thesaurus is an alphabetical listing of all the subject terms in a single database, used to classify and organize information for that database. The thesaurus shows relationships between terms such as synonyms or related terms, and hierarchical arrangements such as broader terms, or narrower terms. Most ProQuest databases have an associated thesaurus.
Once you select the Thesaurus link, you will have an option to search for terms containing the word you have entered or beginning with the word you have entered. From there you can click on the subject terms to show the relationships with other terms. You can then select the subject terms that you would like to add to your search.
When searching multiple databases together, the most common search limits to appear on the Advanced Search page include:
Source type - restrict your search to documents from one or more source types—such as magazines, newspapers, or trade journals. The list of source types will vary depending on the databases you are currently searching.
Document type - restrict your search to one or more document types—such as articles, audio/video clips, or poems. The list of document types will vary depending on the databases you are currently searching.
Language - restrict your search to documents published in one or more languages—such as Arabic, German, or Sanskrit. The list of languages will vary depending on the databases you are currently searching.
Additional or altogether different limits may appear depending on the databases that you have chosen to search.
From the Results page options, you can adjust the sort order, the number of items per page, excluding duplicate documents, and show additional search terms.