Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CSS Website Layout
logo

The University of Bolton Library

Borrowing

Borrowing

How do I borrow items from the Library?

You will need your University of Bolton ID card to borrow an item from the library.

First find your items and take them to the self issue machines located in the Link Zone. Follow the simple instructions on the screen and remember to keep your receipt with the details of when the items are due for return. You can also check My Library Account for details of when your items are due and you will receive regular reminder emails too. 

If you are having any trouble using the self-issue machines, please speak to a member of staff during staffed opening hours.

If you are borrowing DVDs please remember to unlock the DVD cases on your way out of the library. 

 

How many items can I borrow? 

 

Undergraduates
10 items

Postgraduates
15 items
(Education students on postgraduate courses are limited to 10 items)

Researchers
15 items

University staff
15 items

Loan Periods

Most items in the Library can be borrowed for three weeks or one week. We have some one day loans and some three day loans. Many popular titles are placed in the 'High Demand' collection which is a two hour loan. High Demand titles are available via the Library Desk. You can quickly identify how long you can keep an item for by the colour of the spine label or by looking inside the front cover of a book.

1 Week Loans Yellow
3 Day Loans Orange
2 Hour Loans Green

 

 

Item Types

Some items cannot be borrowed from the Library or have restrictions. They include: 

Reference Collection

The Reference Collection contains general reference books, such as dictionaries, encyclopaedia and directories as well as some statistical reference material. All items are listed on the Library Catalogue as Reference and have red spine labels.

Many reference titles are also available in electronic format: Credo Reference is a multi-disciplinary reference database providing access to full-text reference material. Oxford Reference Online is another popular reference source. 

Textbook Collection

These books are not for loan. All items are listed on the Library Catalogue as Textbook and have grey spine labels.

Desk Reference Collection

The Desk Reference Collection contains out of print books and photocopies. Please ask at the Library Desk for this material which may be borrowed. All books are listed on the Library Catalogue as Desk Reference and have green spine labels.

High Demand Collection

High Demand is a collection of heavily requested items. These items are two hour loan and listed on the Library Catalogue. Ask at the Library Desk for further details.

Theses Collection

The Library has a collection of selected student theses. They are kept behind the Issue Desk and may be borrowed within the Library. All theses are listed on the Library Catalogue

Journals Collection

All journals in the Library are for reference only. However, you can photocopy articles from them.