Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CSS Website Layout
logo

The University of Bolton Library

Using Other Libraries

Using Other Libraries

SCONUL Access

The SCONUL Access scheme enables registered users to access academic libraries across the UK. 

SCONUL Access is currently suspended due to the COVID-19 pandemic. UoB students who have previously registered on the scheme will not be able to access other libraries, and we are not processing new applications at present. 

Please see the SCONUL website for details about the SCONUL scheme, and check back for updates. 


Public Libraries

Bolton Libraries and Museums

Bolton Libraries and Museums provide library services across the town. Bolton's impressive Central Library is located on Le Mans Crescent, along with the Museum and Aquarium.

Bolton Library, Museum and Aquarium 
Membership of the Library is free and you can join online or in person

The Library provides a range of services and resources including: 

  • An archives and local studies service
  • Business information services
  • Health information, including books from the national Reading Well and Books on Prescription schemes
  • Special Collections, including rare books and periodicals, that cover topics such as textile history and art history

Bolton Libraries' Borrowbox service enables online access to ebooks and audiobooks. Follow @BoltonLMS on Twitter for all the latest updates. 

 
Manchester Public Libraries

Manchester Libraries provide services and events across Greater Manchester.

The interior of Manchester Central Library's reading room, featuring a grand domed ceiling

Manchester Central Library by Michael D Beckwith is licenced under CC0 1.0


Manchester's landmark Central Library features a chlldren's library, rare book collections, archives and family history centre and more. 

 
Public libraries in England and Wales

Join a Library enables you to find public library services in England and Wales. 

Other local libraries of interest

 

The John Rylands Library and Research Institute

The John Rylands Library is one of the finest examples of neo-Gothic architecture in Europe and is indisputably one of the great libraries of the world.

The John Rylands Library and Research Institute in Manchester

The John Rylands Library and Research Institute by Stephen Richards is licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0

The library became part of The University of Manchester in 1972. It now houses the majority of Special Collections of The University of Manchester Library, the third largest academic library in the United Kingdom. The Library and Research Institute hosts events and exhibitions and provides a growing number of digital collections.

 

The Portico Library

Located in central Manchester, The Portico is a subscription library and newsroom whose historic collection of over 25,000 books and archives spans over 450 years. The Portico hosts free events and exhibitions. Student memberships are available. 

 

The Working Class Movement Library

Salford's Working Class Movement Library is a unique institution devoted to the story of Britain's working classes from the beginning of industrialisation to the present day. Find out more


 

Libraries Near You

WorldCat is the world's largest library catalogue and enables you to search 2 billion items across libraries around the world. Use WorldCat to explore subjects of interest, and find relevant library resources and collections in your local area.