Repositories are a good way of finding Open Educational Repositories. OER Repositories may be discipline or subject-specific, or they may have been set up by an organisation or consortium to archive and share their OER output.
This is not intended to be an exhaustive list of OER Repositories, merely a selection that may be a useful starting point.
Found a good OER repository? Get in touch with the Library team and we can add it here!
Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 117 different sources and contains 388,707 records.
The subjects in the repository include mathematics, physics, chemistry, biology, computer science, informatics, administration, linguistics, teacher education professional courses, and ICT in education.
MERLOT provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers.
The MERLOT collection consists of tens of thousands of discipline-specific learning materials, learning exercises, and Content Builder webpages, together with associated comments, and bookmark collections, all intended to enhance the teaching experience of using a learning material. The collection is made up of over 91,000 materials in 22 different material type categories.
An international co-learning and e-mentoring Community of Practice (CoP) devoted to improving the employability skills and work opportunities of participants and reducing the gap existing between the academic world and the labour market, by means of appropriately remixed and localised OERs, i.e. Open Educational Resources freely available to everyone.
The Open Course Library (OCL) is a collection of shareable course materials, including syllabi, course activities, readings, and assessments designed by teams of college faculty, instructional designers, librarians, and other experts.
Unless otherwise noted, all materials are shared under a Creative Commons (CC BY) license. OCL courses and materials have undergone testing for accessibility and have been designed using the Quality Matters (QM) rubric for assessing the quality of online courses.
Open Yale Courses (OYC) provides lectures and other materials from selected Yale College courses to the public free of charge via the Internet. The courses span the full range of liberal arts disciplines, including humanities, social sciences, and physical and biological sciences.
The license that covers most of the lectures and other course material on Open Yale Courses is Creative Commons' Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 license. This license permits the free use or re-purposing of the Open Yale Courses material by others. Under this license you are allowed to download and redistribute the Open Yale Courses material or remix, tweak, and build upon this material to produce new lectures or other types of creations. To be allowed to do so, however, your use of the material must be non-commercial and you must credit Yale [and the appropriate Yale faculty member] as the originators of the material. Additionally, you must license any new use of the Open Yale Courses material under identical terms. For more information on the scope of the Creative Commons license, visit http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/3.0/us/.
The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books. The directory is open to all publishers who publish academic, peer reviewed books in Open Access.
All books listed in DOAB are freely accessible and therefore free to read, but this does not mean readers are free to do anything they like with these books. The usage rights of the books in DOAB are determined by the license. Please check the license if you want to re-use the contents of a book. Generally speaking, all books listed in DOAB are free to read and share for non-commercial use.
A non-commercial open textbook organization initiated at the University of California, Davis. Features open textbooks in Engineering, Biology, Medicine and Humanities.
OpenStax textbooks are licenced under a Creative Commons Attribution licence. If you want to adapt OpenStax material please check the details of the individual text you want to use.
Open platform from the Center for Open Education at the University of Minnesota. Over 800 textbooks in Engineering, Computing, Education and the sciences.
