Databases are searchable collections of good quality, academic material, particularly journal articles. They can be small subject specific or large collections covering a wide range of subject areas. Most databases provide access to full-text items. Some are abstract only, so you can establish whether or not the research is suitable for your needs.
Key databases for your subject are listed below. Databases showing the "D" icon are indexed by Discover@Bolton - so if you are searching Discover there may not be a need to search that database separately.
However some subject databases feature more advanced search features than Discover@Bolton, so you may wish to consult them separately to be thorough.
 |
Indexed in Discover@Bolton |
 |
Full text available in this database |
 |
Abstract and Indexing Database: this may not contain the full text of articles but will link you to where they can be accessed. |
 |
Open Access database |
 |
Video Content |
 |
Official Statistics Indicator |
Two key databases for Law - LexisLibrary and Westlaw - are not indexed by Discover@Bolton, so you need to log in and search them independently. You will find more information about using LexisLibrary and Westlaw on the Finding Legislation and Finding Cases and Statutes pages.
If you wish to access a particular journal, search either by title or by subject area using the Ejournals portal:
The EJournals Portal includes access to the Article Linker, which allows you to search for specific articles. Have a look at the help guide below:
Google Scholar is Google's popular academic search engine.
If you use Google Scholar you can connect it the Library's holdings to make accessing full text articles easier.
Having problems accessing any of our online resources? Our dedicated guide has troubleshooting steps and more.