Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

RefWorks

Adding References Manually

To add an item to RefWorks, click the Add a reference icon Add a Reference icon at the top of the page. If you plan on adding the item to an existing collection, click on the collection first, then click the Add a reference icon Add a Reference icon.

You'll have three options:

  • Upload document
  • Import references
  • Create new reference

Import a Reference menu

You can drag and drop a document (.pdf, .doc, etc.) directly into the Upload document box to upload an existing MS Office, Open Office or .pdf file from your computer. Only 1 document per item is allowed. 

From the second option, you can also import a set of references from a text file in the formats offered. On the resulting page, you will able to click and drag the file onto the page to begin importing.

Using Create new reference you can manually enter your bibliographic data or click and drag a file to be imported as well.

Tip:  If you have multiple documents to add to RefWorks, you can select and drag them all at once. RefWorks will create separate items for each.

Regardless of which option you choose, RefWorks uses its document recognition feature to attempt to auto-complete the reference fields on the page.

You can change the reference type, manually edit the reference fields and additional fields can be added using the Add more fields drop down box at the bottom of the page. 

If you do not have a file to upload, simply populate the blank fields by typing in the necessary information.

Once you have manually added your item using one of these options, click Save and your item will be added to your RefWorks library.

Reference Suggestions and Full-Text from Discover@Bolton

When entering a reference manually, you will see the option to Find and complete a reference using the title. The suggestions RefWorks recommends are based on whatever text you have already entered (part of a title, an author name, etc.). If one of the suggestions matches what you are looking for, you can simply click on it and the full reference information will be populated.  It will also try to import the full-text article from Discover@Bolton, so you've got the file saved in your RefWorks account! 

Here’s how you can find and add suggested reference data:

1. Click on the Add a reference icon Add a Reference icon and select Create new reference

2. Begin typing the title or an author name

 

3. Look for the Find and complete icon to turn blue or click on it to have RefWorks look for suggestions

Find and Complete icon

 

4. Scroll to the bottom of the reference to see the suggestions and click on the title of the reference you wish to add

Results page for RefWorks import tool

 

5. Once the fields populate, you can save the details you have imported or edit them further. It's a good idea to check the reference as fields may be missing.

 Imported article details in RefWorks

Uploading One or More Documents from your Computer

RefWorks makes it really easy to get documents from your computer – just drag and drop one or more files and RefWorks will do the rest!

If you want to add your documents to a specific collection, make sure you’re viewing the collection first, then drag and drop the file(s). If you’re dragging multiple files, RefWorks will create a separate item for each document. Otherwise, drag and drop documents in the All Documents view and you can file them in collections once they are uploaded.

drag and from from your files into New RefWorks

If you’re not sure where the file is on your computer, you can click the Add a reference icon Add a Reference incon, then click Import reference and use the box to drag and drop, or, to browse and search your computer.  

Import from a File

Note: This option allows you to upload only one document at a time.

Regardless of how you add your documents, RefWorks will try to recognize and populate the reference information using the document authority.  RefWorks will present you with possible matches which you can select to populate the reference fields.

If no reference information is provided, you can manually enter the information.  Make sure to click the Save button to save the reference information.